Conference Agenda

Click here for a PDF version of the agenda.

Tuesday, November 15

9:00 am
Registration and Continental Breakfast – Commons Atrium

9:30 – 10:00 am
Welcome & TCHMB Today
John Hellerstedt, MD, Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS)

10:00 – 11:30 am
Opening Keynote: Jennifer Howse, PhD, March of Dimes (National) Foundation
11:30 am – 1:00 pm
Lunch Buffet - Commons Atrium
Poster Display - Commons Atrium

1:00 – 2:15 pm        
Access and Health Disparities
Arthur R. James, MD, FACOG, Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
Elizabeth A. Howell, MD, MPP, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

2:15 – 3:15 pm        
Texas Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Task Force*
June Hanke, RN, MSN, MPH, Harris Health System

3:15 – 3:30 pm        

3:30 – 5:00 pm        
Promoting Quality Improvement
Scott Berns, MD, MPH, FAAP, National Institute for Children’s Health Quality


Wednesday, November 16

8:00 – 8:30 am
Continental Breakfast – Commons Atrium

8:30 – 10:00 am
Health Literacy
Michael Mackert, PhD, UT Center for Health Communication & UT Stan Richards School of Advertising & Public Relations
Michael Speer, MD, Baylor College of Medicine, Neonatology, Pediatrics

10:00 – 10:30 am
Healthy Texas Babies Data Book presentation
Natalie Archer, PhD, Texas Department of State Health Services, Family and Community Health Services, Office of Program Decision Support (DSHS FCHS OPDS)
Michelle Kormondy, DSHS FCHS OPDS        

10:30 – 10:45 am

10:45 – 11:00 am
TCHMB Web Site Launch

11:00 – 11:45 am
TCHMB Neonatology Subcommittee Co-Chair: Charleta Guillory, MD, MPH, Baylor College of Medicine
Amy B. Hair, MD, Baylor College of Medicine
Dorothy Mandell, PhD, University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler & UT System
Alexander Kenton, MD, FAAP, Mednax & Methodist Health System
Susan Landers, MD, Mednax

11:45 am - 1:15 pm
Boxed lunch

1:15 – 2:15 pm
Levels of Care* 
Michael Speer, MD, Baylor College of Medicine, Neonatology, Pediatrics

2:15 – 3:00 pm
TCHMB Obstetrics Subcommittee Co-Chairs: 
Christina Davidson, MD, Baylor College of Medicine
Carla Ortique, MD, Texas Children’s Hospital & the Women’s Specialists of Houston

3:00 – 3:15 pm
3:15 – 4:00 pm
Community Health
TCHMB Community Health Subcommittee Co-Chair: Ann Salyer-Caldwell, MPH, RD, LD, Tarrant County Public Health
Lesley French, JD, Texas Health and Human Services Commission

4:00 pm
Closing Remarks

*Continuing education credits will not be available for these sessions.